popsugar musthave december box

7 Jan

Untitled

A few weeks ago, I received my first PopSugar Must Have box.

…And here are the spoils.

Untitled

The Must Have box is $35 a month, including shipping (extra $5 off with code REFERFRIENDS before 2/28/13) and PopSugar guarantees at least $100 worth of items in each box.

The retail value of the goods in this box was approximately $109.98. Here’s a detailed list of what was in the December box:

Untitled

Bogdon’s Peppermint Poles – $3.99

Not a big ticket item, but these dark chocolate covered peppermint sticks are begging to be stuck in a mug of hot chocolate.

Untitled

Tea Forte Sampler – $15

This sampler of pyramid infusers has a bunch of different flavors in it. Since I’m quite picky when it comes to tea, I probably would not have purchased this in a store, but receiving it in the box means I’ll try all of the flavors.

Untitled

Pinch Minimergency Kit – $15

This little kit, designed to fit in a purse, contains 17 items: hairspray, clear nail polish, nail polish remover, emery board, lip balm, earring backs, clear elastics, mending kit, double-sided Shemergency tape, stain remover, deodorant towelette, pain reliever, tampon, breath freshener, dental floss, and adhesive bandages. The version included in the box was the Good Luck one, and mine is yellow with an evil eye charm.

Untitled

Jabonería Marianella Soap – $14

This soap has a nice clean (if a bit floral) scent. As far as I can tell, it’s designed for use on the face, with goat milk for alpha-hydroxy acids and vitamin A, rice bran oil and argan oil for antioxidants and vitamin E, colloidal oatmeal to relieve dry/irritated skin and acne, and cocoa butter to moisturize.

Untitled

Bodum Double-Wall Bistro Mugs – $30

These mugs have a double wall of glass separated by air to keep cold drinks cold without condensation and hot drinks hot without burning your hand. They are dishwasher/microwave/freezer/oven safe. These mugs were probably the highlight of the box. I can’t speak to their usefulness with warm beverages just yet, but we used them for champagne on New Year’s Eve and they kept it chilled without any condensation. They’ve also made it through the dishwasher twice now unscathed.

Untitled

GoSwype microfiber cleaning cloth – $1.99

A nice, compact microfiber cloth. This will be useful for putting in a purse to clean my phone. Another thing that I probably wouldn’t have purchased for myself, but will be useful.

Untitled

$30 coupon for Rent the Runway – $30

I’m not sure what the terms on this are, even though if I’d read the card I’d probably know. I haven’t used Rent the Runway before, so I can’t say how much use I’ll get out of this.

Overall, my first PopSugar Must Have box was pretty good. The Bodum mugs alone pretty much justified the price for me. The January boxes should start shipping soon and I look forward to seeing what’s in this one. I’ve given myself 3 months to decide if I want to continue on with the $35/month price (slightly discounted at $95 for 3 months, $190 for 6 months, or $380 for a year).

Leave a Reply

