christmas 2012 – hobbes

7 Jan

Untitled

This is the first of this year’s Christmas presents. This one was for my youngest niece, who is one.

Untitled

She got Hobbes, the stuffed tiger from the comic strip Calvin and Hobbes. I used a pattern by seamster on Instructables.

Untitled

Untitled

He took awhile, as each stripe was cut and sewn on individually. If I had it to do over again, I might use felt for the stripes. I am terrible at cutting fleece precisely, so there were a number of scrapped stripes along the way.

Untitled

As mentioned above, he was made from fleece. I stuck some of those poly beads in the bottom of the body so he’d sit upright.

Untitled

I kind of wish I’d have stuffed the body slightly less, just so he’d slump a little like Hobbes does in the comics.

Untitled

All in all, I’m pleased with the outcome. The baby, however, went straight for her brother’s stuffed animal instead of her own…

Leave a Reply

