mermaid

20 Nov

Untitled

This was my niece’s first birthday present.

Untitled

My niece is obsessed with the show Bubble Guppies, which features a bunch of mermaids. She hears the theme song and immediately is looking for the source.

Untitled

I made the pattern for this one entirely. I thought it would be funny to give my niece a present the same size as her, so she’s pretty big.

Untitled

She’s made entirely of jersey, save felt eyes and a fleece mouth.

Untitled

I suspect the tail fabric was printed slightly off grain because it’s doing a weird twisting thing despite my painstakingly cutting it straight along the print, but I don’t think the baby is likely to care too much. She may or may not have tackled it and then given it a bunch of kisses, which I’m pretty sure is the one year old equivalent of a seal of approval.

Leave a Reply

