concerned carrot

12 Oct

Untitled

This guy is my oldest niece’s birthday present. He’s a giant carrot.

Untitled

He’s made of terrycloth with felt facial features.

I’ll be honest and say that the terrycloth frightened me a bit. I’ve never sewn with it, let alone tried to make a stuffed animal with it, so I had no clue if it could fray. Luckily, other than my needle making a bunch of loops poke out and it shedding all over the house, I didn’t have any issues.

Untitled

I made my own pattern for this one and I think it turned out pretty well.

Untitled

Deciding on a face probably took me the most amount of thought. My oldest niece is getting older and she’s not usually one for anything too cutesy, so I didn’t want to do a typical smiley face. Last year her present had a row of sharp teeth and she loved it, but I didn’t want to go with that again.

Untitled

I decided to make him look like he was talking, though I think he looks slightly concerned. Maybe it can be both.

Untitled

I used embroidery floss on his stem (leaves?) to create detail and on the body to create the horizontal lines that are on carrots. Just like every time I use embroidery floss, I just made up a stitch and went with it. The closest to actually doing embroidery I’ve ever done was to cross stitch one thing in Girl Scouts when I was maybe 10. I should probably look up how to actually do it, because for the life of me I can’t figure out how to do a continuous line of gapless stitches without using a ridiculous amount of embroidery floss.

Untitled

He didn’t use an entire bag of stuffing like his recently made friend, though it was close. There’s just something about making a gigantic stuffed animal that I really love.

Next project: a birthday present for my youngest niece, who will be turning one next month. There is an 80% chance she’s getting something the same size as her because I can’t resist the urge. At the moment, I’m planning on a mermaid because she’s semi-obsessed with the Bubble Guppies.

Also, if I have a bit of spare time, I’m debating making some smaller stuffed animals for my Etsy shop. I’ve built up a few self-designed patterns at this point, and due to my complete inability to plan a project ahead of time so I can properly judge how much fabric I need, I also have a fabric stash that is bordering on insane.

2 Responses to “concerned carrot”

  1. NANCY November 11, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    This is too cute! Give yourself a pat on the back!

Leave a Reply

