the lemonheads stage ae, pittsburgh 1/16/2012

17 Jan

Untitled

Saw the Lemonheads last night on their 20th anniversary tour for It’s a Shame About Ray. They played 36 songs, with Evan Dando proclaiming, “okay, one more” after the last 5 or 6 of them.

I was 8 or 9 when It’s a Shame About Ray was released. My parents would put the Lemonheads on in the car and my sisters and I used to listen to them while playing video games all the time. I still really enjoy listening to them as well as Dando’s solo stuff.

I caught them on the previous leg of this tour in Akron a few months ago and I have to say this show was better. When I saw them after the newest self-titled album was released, Evan explained that he’d named the song Pittsburgh after the city because he always has a good time here and this was fairly evident last night. Lots of smiling and laughing, requests honored and a seemingly neverending setlist made for an excellent show. Plus they played their cover of Luka, which was a treat.

Setlist:
the Outdoor Type [*]
Being Around [*]
My Idea [*]
Impractical Joke (Smudge cover) [*]
Favorite T [*]
Rockin Stroll
Confetti
It’s a Shame About Ray
Rudderless
My Drug Buddy
Turnpike Down
Bit Part
Alison’s Starting to Happen
Hannah & Gabi
Kitchen
Ceiling Fan in My Spoon
Divan [*]
Waiting Around to Die [*]
Pittsburgh [*]
No Backbone [*]
Into Your Arms [*]
Frank Mills [*] (forgotten during the playing of the album)
Whoops [*]
It’s About Time [*]
Luka (Suzanne Vega cover)
Hospital
Style
Down About It
Tenderfoot
Great Big No
Big Gay Heart
If I Could Talk I’d Tell You
Ride with Me [*]
Why Do you Do This to Yourself [*]
Mallo Cup [*]
Clang Bang Clang (Left for Dead) [*]

[*] Evan Dando acoustic

One Response to “the lemonheads stage ae, pittsburgh 1/16/2012”

  1. Kancie Straight May 18, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    jealous!!!!!

Leave a Reply

