a very Legend of Zelda Christmas

4 Jan

Untitled Untitled

The legend of Zelda video games celebrated their 25th anniversary this year. Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past was the first video game I ever bought with my own money after begging my dad to take a special trip to the store so my eight year old self could buy it 20 years ago. There is no doubt in my mind that it’s the video game I’ve played and beaten the largest number of times.

The newest incarnation, Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, came out right as I was panicking over making Christmas presents for four kids in November. I went with the appearance Link and co. have in Wind Waker, mainly because I had to sort out stuffed animals for the two girls and boy and Link, Zelda and Tetra fit that bill fairly well. I figured there was no shortage of accessories I could turn into a rattle, squeaky toy and jingling toy for the baby.

All of the toys are made out of jersey because it’s fairly forgiving. I made my own patterns for parts of them and freehanded the rest.

Untitled

Link: hero of legend, wearer of green tunic and cap.

Untitled

My nephew got Link since he’s the boy. Easy enough decision.

Untitled

Untitled

Zelda: princess of Hyrule, sometimes rescuee

Untitled

My second niece got Zelda. She’s more into dresses and princesses and the like, so I figured she’d go for Zelda. Of course the first thing she asks is where her crown is. She got an honest answer: I simplified everything because I was nearly out of time and had stabbed the eye of a hand needle into my middle finger so many times I was ready to throw in the towel.

Untitled

Untitled

Tetra: pirate captain, tanned and Zelda-y

Untitled

My oldest niece got Tetra. She’s getting kind of old for the stuffed animals, so I figured I’d give her the pirate.

Untitled

Untitled

Master Sword: Link’s weapon of choice, instrument of badassery

Untitled

This particular incarnation of the Master Sword rattles, as it was made for a one month old. Originally the blade was going to be several pieces sewn together to mimic the bevels but somehow it came to be Christmas Eve before it was even started. To save myself some time, I embroidered the details on the sword instead.

Navi: Link’s fairy companion in Ocarina of Time, yeller of “Hey! Listen!”

Untitled

This Navi jingles instead of yelling.

Untitled

Ocarina: magical musical instrument, handy for speedy travel

Untitled

This ocarina squeaks. We’ll pretend that in my haste I didn’t sew the one part on backwards so the seam was visible…

Untitled

Clearly wiped out from all that adventuring. She even had a pointy hat on, albeit in the wrong color.

Leave a Reply

