baby shower gift

6 Oct

Untitled

I made this as a quick baby shower present for a friend. It was made from the “Animal House” pattern by Ric Rac.

Untitled

The friend in question doesn’t live in the state, so I’d ordered some presents from her registry and had them shipped to her house. Even so, I wanted something other than a card to give her at her shower here.

Untitled

The pig rattles, the monkey squeaks and the cat jingles, thanks to American Felt and Craft on etsy. I never imagined it’d be so difficult to find rattles to put in toys, but that was the only place I ended up being able to locate some.

The pattern went together well, though my addition of a boat-bottom-as-pocket without thinking about it beforehand caused me some construction issues. I also left the animals until the 11th hour because I hadn’t ordered the rattles early enough, so I had to simplify the design when I realized the fuzzy fabric I’d picked out wasn’t going to work.

Leave a Reply

