kiri kiwi

19 Oct

My younger niece got Kiri the Kiwi Bird as her birthday present.

This one was also a Funky Friends Factory pattern that was available for instant download. I scaled this one up too, as I wanted it as big and squishy as possible.

I used also used jersey to make Kiri. I can never seem to find a good selection of jersey when I go to the store, so I quickly abandoned semi-realistic colors for any of the stuffed animals and decided to make them insanely bright instead.

There was a bit of cheating on this one, as I used the sewing machine to sew the main body pieces together. I made a decision when cutting and later sewing the beak together to make the bottom half shorter than it was supposed to be. I was going to try to make it look like she was smiling, but I completely forgot to trim the extra until I’d already sewn it.

Again, the pattern went together pretty well. She got some plastic pellets in her feet and the bottom of her body to add some heft.

Leave a Reply

