charlie cockatoo

15 Oct

As mentioned previously, I decided to make my older niece Charlie Cockatoo for her birthday.

The pattern is by Funky Friends Factory and is available as an instant download e-pattern, which is always nice. (Though I try to work on it, I have the patience of a small child and waiting for things to come in the mail always makes me antsy.) I scaled the pattern up a bit in size before printing it, though I can’t remember exactly how much.

When I headed to buy fabric, I decided that I’d make the presents out of jersey. I like jersey for stuffed animals because it tends to be soft and it’s pretty forgiving. I ended up grabbing teal and magenta fabric, some plastic pellets and some buttons to use for eyes.

I sewed this one entirely by hand. I had some leftover heavyweight interfacing that I decided to use for the crest to help hold it upright. Aside from making a huge mess filling the feet and bottom of the body with the pellets, the pattern went together well.

I’m still debating doing some form of quilting on the wings, but all in all, I’m pretty pleased with this one.

Leave a Reply

