obsessive compulsive cosmetics: psycho

24 Oct

8118851638_357fb0bb28_bC

I recently bought two Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tars in Memento and Psycho. The one pictured above is Psycho, which is described as a true blood red.

As background, I am a bit of a lip stain addict. I’ve tried a ton of different ones, but the one I use on a near daily basis is Vincent Longo Original Lip and Cheek Gel Stain. It lasts all day and you can put lip gloss on over it without worrying that it’ll wear off. It’s mostly eat/drink proof, though if you eat something very greasy it’s going to come off. I typically use the shade Liquid Kiss, which I’ve just noticed is not currently listed on the site. (I might have a minor freakout over that…)

Due to the fact that I’m used to putting lip stain on at 5:45 in the morning and having it still be on at 7:00 in the evening, I probably have slightly unrealistic expectations for lip products. For example, I never put normal lipstick on without being completely bummed out when it’s disappeared within two hours.

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar is described as “high-opacity lipstick concentrate with unprecedented longevity”, so I figured it was worth a shot.

8118755221_ee70b4f9cf_o

I applied Lip Tar in Psycho over the Vincent Longo lip stain in Liquid Kiss. While I’d argue that this shade is less blood red and way more orange-red, you will get no arguments from me that it is extremely opaque. Once I put it on I could no longer tell that I’d put lip stain on under it.

The tinest drop of Lip Tar will cover your lips completely. Lip Tar is meant to be applied with a brush, and it’s fairly easy to get the hang of even if you’re not used to applying lip products with a brush. The color is buidable and with the thin liquid consistency, colors are easily blended. I’d show an example of this, but when I mixed Psycho with the pale plummy pink Memento, I got something that was way more orange than I’d typically wear.

Untitled

As you can see from the picture above, Lip Tar is not transfer proof. If you drink out of a glass, it’s getting on there. This is why I put lip stain on underneath it. While it does last for a very long time, it could not stand up to the Udon noodles I had on Saturday and by the time I got home all I could see was the lip stain I’d put on underneath. I have extremely pale lips, so I like a little color insurance for when the Lip Tar starts to wear off.

The $16 tube only holds 0.33oz, but you use such a tiny amount that a single tube would probably last you most of the year even if you used it daily. I don’t know about other retailers, but when you buy it from Sephora it comes in a clear pouch with a mini lip brush and an instruction card. Unlike some mini brushes, this one actually works really well for applying the Lip Tar.

Another nice touch is that Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

I’m probably going to end up buying more of these. Memento is a lovely pale pink, but a bit lighter than I normally use for daily wear. Psycho is a super punchy orange red, which is a bit more vibrant than I typically wear on a daily basis. I’m probably going to try to round it out with a color or two in between the two. xSparkage has a huge post with most of the colors and I’ll probably use that as reference when picking a new shade.

Untitled

Wow, flash really brings out just how pasty I really am.

One Response to “obsessive compulsive cosmetics: psycho”

  1. katylove1990 October 24, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    This is my favorite lip color!! =) Great choice! Please check out my beauty blog as well ^__^ http://www.allintheblush.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

